Archdiocese at a Glance

The Archdiocese of Perth, dedicated to the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary, is located in Perth, the capital city of the State of Western Australia. It is bounded in the north by the Diocese of Geraldton, in the east by the South Australian border, in the south by the Diocese of Bunbury and by the Southern Ocean in its south-east corner and on the west by the Indian Ocean. Perth is the Metropolitan See for the Province of Western Australia which includes the Dioceses of Bunbury, Geraldton and Broome.

The Archdiocese covers 471,118 sq. kms and has a population of about 1.5 million, of whom about 365,000 are Catholics. The bulk of the population is in the capital city, however, the Archdiocese also includes extensive fishing, agricultural, pastoral and mining industries.